Accept yourself… not Laziness.

            I will start by saying this post, along with most all of my posts, are my own personal opinion and have not been supported by facts by any means. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I am also open to others’ opinions as well but this is my own conviction.

            There are so many articles out there about accepting your body after having a baby. I agree with most of the articles in that, you just had a baby, cut yourself some slack! It is also necessary to come to terms with the fact that your body will never be the same, but YOU will never be the same either, because you now have a child that is the center of your world, and you wouldn’t have it any other way. With that being said, that is not a license to be lazy and say “I had a baby, so who cares if I’m healthy”. It definitely takes time to lose the weight that you put on and rightly so. I heard the phrase “Nine months in, nine months out” and I agree, it took you a while to put it on—and you had help—so it will take a while to come off too.

If you really take a moment to think about everything that takes place in a pregnancy, it is astonishing. I don’t know how someone could experience pregnancy and not believe that God is the one behind conception and childbirth. I’m not going to go into a health class lesson because we all know where babies come from. But it’s crazy to think that over the course of nine months you have what starts as a tiny egg, turns into a living, breathing, baby! Your organs have had to shift and relocate, your hips have had to spread, and your back has carried more weight than it ever has. So it’s completely understandable if you don’t bounce back like you used to.

I also don’t agree with the whole–take pictures of yourself completely naked or in just underwear breastfeeding your child—so you can show that you are happy with your new mom bod. Don’t get me wrong, breastfeeding is special, and I feel I can say this because I have nursed my son for the last almost twelve months. However, that should be a special, intimate bond between mother and child. I can even understand to some extent, taking pictures of nursing just to remember those times, but those should be for your own enjoyment, and they should be appropriate. I just don’t see the need to reveal yourself in that manner. I know that after your body changes so drastically it takes a lot of courage to put yourself out there, but you shouldn’t need reassurance from responses to a photo like that. As long as you can see yourself as beautiful and continue to work toward a healthier you, then that’s all that matters.

I am now approaching a year after giving birth to my son and I am still holding onto about 25 pounds of baby weight. I know I could eat healthier, I know I could exercise more… who am I kidding.. I know I could exercise (period). I am not happy with my weight and body right now but I am happy with what my body did, which is carry the most precious cargo for nine whole months. When I look in the mirror, yes I see love handles, and stretch marks and sagginess, but those love handles hold my baby on my hip. Those stretch marks remind me how much I loved being pregnant and how incredible it was to feel him move and kick. That sagginess means I was blessed enough to breastfeed my baby for almost a year and have that special bond for as long as it lasted.

Someone posting this would make me happy and proud, this is all that’s necessary…

pic-6

It has been quite some time, since I had Ayden to be exact, since I have felt pretty and good in my own skin. The scale is my worst nightmare, some of my hair is falling out, my face breaks out constantly, I am as heavy as I have ever been but when I took this picture this morning to show my mom the new shirt she got me… I actually thought I looked good. I know I have to cut myself some slack because Ayden is still a baby and I need to remind myself that the Lord thinks I’m beautiful. I’m definitely not where I want to be physically but I think being ok with where I’m at right now is the first step. So this is me being ok with me right now and working towards a healthier happier me. 🙂 #nofilter #onedayatatime #mombod #thetruthbehindthepicture

 

Leave a Reply

