Technology… is it really helping?

Let me start by saying I am someone who spends a lot of time on her phone; definitely more than I should. I don’t write this to be hypocritical but to acknowledge that there is a major problem. Cell phones, Ipads, you name it, have become such a nuisance. I can understand things like checking you phone on break at work, or having it with you in case you are contacted or for convenience if you are traveling and need directions etc. However, probably 80% or more of our use of our phone is not for any of the above. It’s to check all your social media, continually scrolling with no purpose or means to an end. Let me preface this once again, FB itself is not the problem, the phone itself is not the problem. The problem is the addiction to whatever it is that brings you to spend hours upon hours of doing well, NOTHING.

I have come to this conclusion because when I finally get home from a long day of work and just want some good old quality family time, phones/computers/Netflix/Nintendo DS, whatever it may be, are in the way. I know people, my husband included, that use their phones to decompress after a long hard day and relax. It’s not my place to tell them how they should or shouldn’t relax but if I want to spend time with them and they are on their phone, especially with headphones in, I don’t want to compete with technology. Although it may not be true, trying to talk to someone with their headphones in makes me feel as if I am less important than what they are currently listening to.

It’s honestly sad to me that our world has become such a closed off place. Social media was created to bring people together and connect long lost friends but in the process, has closed off families and estranged once close friends. I know it might sound cheesy but I miss the nights before texting and smart phones when my family would all just talk around the dinner table without having their phone lying next to their plate. Or when we would play a board game as a family and if someone really needed to get ahold of us they would have to call the home phone to get our attention (we don’t even own a home phone). I miss riding my bike up and down the street and my dad just watching us contently without having to entertain himself with what other people were doing that is more exciting-not saying this happens, but you catch my drift.

As much as technology has allowed so much advancement in the medical, business and so many other industries, I feel it has had more of a negative impact on families. I don’t want to be one of those parents that is against technology, because I would then be a hypocrite. However, I do think it is necessary to set aside time during the week to focus on what is more important, and what is right in front of you. I have told my husband before and will say it again- I would be so upset with myself if the moment my son decides to take his first step, I miss it because I’m looking at something on FB that I won’t even remember later that night. So, with all that said, This is my pledge to look at my phone less and live in the moments right now that I will never be able to get back.

 

“Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time, for that’s the stuff life is made of.” ― Benjamin Franklin

“You aren’t living in the moment because your thoughts seem more important than what’s happening right now. As long as you continue to believe your thoughts are true, they will always seem more important that the present moment.” ―Noah Elkrief

“It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.” ― Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

